September – March 2016 Empties

SeptMarEmpties

I’ve had a lot going on the past year from planning my wedding which we had in October, my dad’s cancer diagnosis, moving and constant hospital trips. I would really love to do individual in depth reviews down the road but the empties have been piling up so here are some mini reviews for now.

Face

Province Apothecary Made For You Serum

This was a custom serum made by Julie Clark (Founder of PA) that last time I saw her which was a couple weeks before my wedding. My skin is so happy when I use the custom blends. You can also order one online by doing a survey (see in link above).

Kahina Giving Beauty Eye Serum

I loved this serum! It feels light on the skin and is moisturizing and most importantly non irritating and non sticky. I had a couple of little bumps around my eyes I got from using a product that was too heavy and this got rid of them within the first couple of weeks. I’m using one by La Bella Figura now but will repurchase in the future.

Odacite Pure Elements Ap+P (Apricot Palmarosa) Serum for Fragile Capillaries

This was also in my June 2015 Empties. I do find a slight improvement with my broken capillaries around my nose but after using two bottles it wasn’t enough improvement to purchase it again. My nose is just always red I think mostly due to my cat allergies. Laser therapy may be my best bet.

Odacite Pure Elements Bl+C (Black Cumin-Cajeput) Serum for Pimples

I loved this and will repurchase. I find it more effective and nourishing than the Osmia Spot Treatment which slightly dries out my skin.

Odacite Pure Elements Pa+G (Papaya-Geranium) Serum for Hyperpigmentation

This is my fourth or fifth bottle of this. It’s targeted more for age spots but I find it works amazing for any post acne marks. Just assume this will be in every empties post of mine.

One Love Organics Active Moisture Vitamin C Serum

This was one of my first green beauty purchases and I couldn’t remember hating it so I thought I’d try it again. It’s quite hydrating but for me personally it doesn’t “wow” me like the Yuli Liquid Courage does which also has Vitamin C.

May Lindstrom The Honey Mud

Angels sing when I open this beautiful little jar of mud. The smell is sweet and intoxicating. This is so gorgeous as a mask on it’s own, mixed with The Problem Solver or used as a face cleanser. I use it all three ways and it’s a must have for me in the winter time. I’ve already repurchased and will again and again!

MV Organic Rose Soothing Protective Moisturizer

I didn’t fall in love with this until I had a little sample of their Rose Plus Booster from a Detox Market order. On it’s own it was lack lustre for me but keep in mind I have quite dry and sensitive skin. I would buy this again but with the Rose Plus Booster.

Meow Meow Tweet Face Cleanser

This was a nice basic creamy face cleanser. It wasn’t enough to remove makeup so I would cleanse with an oil beforehand or use a konjac sponge to get the most benefit. Skin doesn’t feel tight afterward which is a plus. I received this in a Petit Vour box which I used to subscribe to. I received too many products that either didn’t interest me or had an ingredient I’m allergic to. I now subscribe to Beauty Heroes which I am loving. As far as the cleanser goes I wouldn’t purchase it but because the One Love Organics Vitamin B Enzyme Cleansing Oil is my everything.

Province Apothecary Moisturizing Cleanser

I previously said I didn’t care for this but after using another sample of it then repurchasing it I realized I quite like it. It’s very gentle and moisturizing, I personally use it first thing in the morning or on a day where I have no makeup to remove. It’s nice to apply before stepping into the shower or bath as well because the oils protect your skin from drying out.

Vintners Daughter Serum

I feel like this deserves it’s own post. This is such a gorgeous serum! I was lucky enough to win this from Clementine Fields which I am so thankful for. I’ve heard people say this is more geared towards an oilier skin type but my dry sensitive skin drinks this up. I find the best results when I wear this at night and in the morning my skin is even toned and calm. I’ve already repurchased.

RMS Beauty Un-Powder 

This is an essential part of my makeup routine. This is the original colourless version of their setting powder. It’s so fine and feels weightless on the skin. And it never makes my skin look dry unlike other powers. I repurchased already. I’m curious to try the tinted version, has anyone tried it?

Body

Kahina Giving Beauty Fez Body Serum

Clementine Fields always has a gift with purchase each month over orders of $200 and this was one of them. This smells incredible and reminds me a bit of the Skin & Bones oil which is my ultimate favourite. Kahina also makes a perfume which is based off the scent of this serum which I would love to try in the future.

Lotus Wei Inspired Action perfume

I’m a fan of all things Lotus Wei and am currently doing their FloweRevolution! I first bought Inspired Action as a serum which I still use and love. I liked the scent so much I had to get the perfume. It’s spicy and citrus-y and makes me happy. I use this whenever I need a kick in the butt.

Lotus Wei Infinite Love perfume

I’ve lost count as to how many of these I’ve repurchased and my love for it has not dwindled. This is the perfect scent for when you’re feeling down and need a boost of confidence. I’ve mentioned this in my Travel Essentials, February and May 2015 Empties in the past.

Weleda Citrus Deodorant

I go back and forth between the different scents in this spray. Easy to use and travel friendly, I will always repurchase. This is perfect to use throughout the day to refresh after using a cream deodorant in the morning.

Weleda Wild Rose Creamy Body Wash

I use this or bar soaps from a woman who has a stand at the CNE in the summer. My preference is this but my only gripe is I go through it quickly and it can end up being a lot for just soap. It’s so moisturizing, lathers well and I am obsessed with the smell. I don’t share this with the husband so I guess that justifies purchasing it so often.

Hair

Curelle Hydra Shampoo

This is another item that will continuously be in my Empties posts, it’s just a great basic shampoo especially for sensitive people! I was excited to find it for a much cheaper price in Kensington Market so if you live in Toronto you can save a few bucks by going to 4 Life grocery store instead of Noah’s.

Mermaid Hair Shampoo & Conditioner

I waffled between buying this because I sent the company several messages to find out the ingredients list and never heard back. They had previously emailed me back about the perfume ingredients too. It’s also suspicious when companies don’t list ingredients… But after falling in love with the scent at Jacob and Sebastian I had to have these. Unfortunetly the delicious coconut scent fades quickly. I found both to be very basic. Loved the scent and how my hair looked and felt. I just love other hair products more. Also for more than half the price I can purchase Curelle which is just as good if not better. The wording of their ingredients list also seems strange to me as both the shampoo and conditioner have the same ingredients: “Enriched with Pro-Vitamin B5, panthenol, meadowfoam seed oil, wheat acids, brown and red seaweed, quinoa protein, flower acids from the hibiscus plant, and extracts of henna, geranium, chamomile, nettle, burdock, fenugreek, comfrey, elderflower, ivy and calendula.”

Yarok Feed Your Volume Shampoo

This is one of my favourite shampoos. I rotate between this and the Curelle, because this can be a little drying if used everyday. But it gives magnificent volume and smells really fresh.

Yarok Feed Your Moisture Shampoo

Much like the Curelle, this is more of an everyday shampoo for me because of the hydrating factor. I would buy this again but only for a splurge since I find the Curelle just as good.

Sudsatorium Espiridoeidiphoba Conditioner

I bought this purely based on the scent which is very citrus-y. It moisturized fine but I probably won’t repurchase because my husband wasn’t fond on the smell.

Yarok Feed Your Ends Leave In Conditioner

Another product I always have. It’s just the best for protecting hair from heat damage. When I travel I can also bring this and skip a conditioner in the shower and use this for both.

 

What did you finish up in the past month? Do you buy the same products over and over or do you like to try new things? 

xo Yumi Rae

 

 

 

September – March 2016 Empties

Leave a Reply

